Honour Roll

OABP Award of Excellence

This award is presented to an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to the practice of bovine veterinary medicine in Ontario. The award is only presented when a truly exceptional, highly deserving candidate is nominated. Recipients contributions have included:

  1. Exceptional efforts in the area of continuing education for veterinarians engaged in bovine practice.
  2. Outstanding achievements in veterinary practice or medicine with involvement in affiliated professional or industry associations.
  3. Significant involvement representing and speaking on behalf of food animal practitioners.
  4. Distinguished efforts, through formal research or activities in regulatory agencies, which has had a positive impact on members of the OABP.
  5. Actions that have elevated the standards of bovine practice, the professional reputations of veterinarians and strengthened the public’s appreciation for the role of the veterinary practitioner in Ontario’s food production system.


Past Award Recipients are as follows:

2017:  Dr. Kelly Barratt
2016:  Dr. David Douglas
2015:  Dr. Jim Fairles
2013:  Dr. Ken Bateman
2012:  Dr. Kerry Lissemore
2011:  Dr. Henry Ceelen
2010:  Dr. Randy Graham
2009:  Dr. Wayne Shewfelt
2007:  Dr. Ken Leslie
2006:  Dr. Ann Godkin
2005:  Dr. Reny Lothrop
2003:  Dr. Daniel Butler
2002:  Dr. Neil Anderson

OABP Veterinary Service Award

The OABP Veterinary Service Award is meant to honour a veterinarian who has demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to the Ontario bovine industry.

Past Award Recipients are as follows:

2017:  Dr. Len Stewart
2016:  Dr. Adrian Miltenburg
2015:  Dr. Lavern Clark
2014:  Dr. Terry Johnston
2013:  Dr. Brian MacNaughton
2012:  Dr. Kerry Blagrave
2011:  Dr. Bruce Robinson
2010:  Dr. Reny Lothrop
2009:  Dr. Murrel Bauman

OABP Student Award

Recent graduate, Dr. Ben Potvin (left), accepts the 2018 OABP Student Award from Dr. Dan Shock at the OVC Convocation held in Guelph in June 2017.





OABP Honourary Members

George MacNaughton
Jack Rodenburg